STRANGER ABDUCTION – An Update

images (3)

Stranger Abduction
An Update

For those who might be interested, I have completed the first draft of Stranger Abduction and am now working on editing and rewrites. Hopefully, the book will be ready for publication sometime in October, 2015.

Risking redundancy, Stranger Abduction is inspired by a true unsolved case back in 1993 in Southeastern Arizona. The book had been originally slated for Book 2 of my ‘Bailey Crane Mysteries’, but the manuscript was lost in one of my house moves. The ‘Bailey Crane Mysteries’ Books 1-6 are still on Amazon Kindle and POD, but I decided to rewrite Stranger Abduction as a book unto itself.

In 1995, my wife and I had a spread in southeastern Arizona which was a getaway home for us and we called it ‘The Lazy Rabbit Ranch’. The non-working ranch was within 5 miles of where a mother and daughter were abducted two years previously.

The case fascinated me.

SO, I’ve spent the past few months completely rewriting Stranger Abduction and have put a totally new ‘spin’ to the book. The book does offer an alternate conclusion to the ‘cold case’. The father has passed on and only the sixteen siblings are left. I wanted to provide them and the reader with a possible scenario of the case with a plausible ending. The book is fictional but definitely inspired by those abductions twenty-two years ago…what is actually known about the case.

Now, as I spend my time in the rewriting (draft 2), I’m reliving some of the good times our family spent in the ‘Sulphur Springs Valley’, that desert area surrounded by mountains and defined by the lore of legendary gun slingers and Cochise warriors…not to mention Tombstone, ‘the town too tough to die.’ As with most writers, I believe my novel is well written and compelling.

To those who might have time and would consider helping introduce this new novel to the internet world, this inept launcher of books would be most appreciative…blog tours, perhaps being a Beta-reader (I believe they’re called), and/or ideas for a unique cover, I would love to hear from you.

In any event Stranger Abduction will see the public light of day in the next few weeks. Amazon and Goodreads reviews will be greatly appreciated.

Billy Ray Chitwood – September 5, 2015

SOME LINKS:

http://www.about.me/brchitwood

http://billyraychitwood.weebly.com

http://amazon.com/author/billyraychitwood

http://twitter.com/brchitwood

http://facebook.com/billyray.chitwood

PROUD TO BE THE RECIPIENT OF NINE BLOG AWARDS, INCLUDING: 

liebsteraward most-influential-blogger-e1364230844577 (1) beautiful-blogger-award

    

5 thoughts on “STRANGER ABDUCTION – An Update

    • You’re a special person in my life, Dr. Tim… Julie and I are always thinking of you, Rennie, and Gentry. Are you working on another book? If not, you should be…you’re too good a writer not to be sharing that talent… ♥

      Like

Leave a Reply

