My Reaction To An Interview

My Reaction To An Interview 

 A political pundit was interviewing an atheist, and I found myself becoming angry with the remarks of the latter. Of course, my anger had something to do with my Christian faith – a childhood faith that went through some amendments in adulthood. The remarks by the atheist were rude, stark, and outrageously arrogant, spoken with a sharp tongue and matter of fact nuance that grew my anger.

I understand that people have a right to their beliefs – that’s one of the marvelous gifts in our democracy. The atheist has that right to believe what he/she wishes, but, in my world, most atheists are ‘know-it-all’ blowhards who can really get under the skin of a not so patient individual – of me I speak. This guy of whom I reference being interviewed, I don’t remember his name, don’t care to remember, is not worth my remembering. The guy was asked a simple question: “Why do you offend people of faith with your atheist displays?” In one breath the atheist said, “I don’t care if I offend you or not.” In another breath, he said, “You can believe what you want, but don’t force it down our throats.” The Interviewer pointed out that atheists made up maybe 2 ½ per cent of the US population, that Christians made up 70 to 80 per cent, that Christians were not forcing anything on the atheists, but more the opposite.

The give and take lasted for several minutes, and I simply wanted to throttle the atheist – mostly because of his looks and his rude and arrogant behavior. Yes, I know this makes me sound like a not very Christian guy, but you had to be there.

Here’s my take. There are very likely pleasant enough atheists with whom I could converse, even like and find some areas of agreement, but many of those I’ve encountered carry this arrogance and egotistical mindset. I could much better understand an agnostic’s views of doubt about faith, but when someone categorically tells me there is no God, that life is no interlude to another dimension after death, that they are right and those of faith are wrong and rather stupid, I have no use for that individual. Whatever that makes me, I accept the description.

We live in a great country where there is great diversity of opinion and views on many matters, and I’m all for that. I just do not like arrogant and rude people suggesting to me that they know with certainty that their total lack of faith in a higher order trumps my faith. My faith is with me, wavers at time, some days wish it were stronger and without any sense of doubt, but all I have to do is remind myself of my own creation, that precise and methodical nine months (give or take) of intricate phases which brought me screaming into the world. I remind myself of the order in the universe and of a man named Jesus who lived among us, shared with us parables for living a good life, a man without sin and was said to be the Son of God. I remind myself of all the cultures of the world who embrace their God, perhaps not always by the same Scriptures and/or Strictures.

At this time of the year, our country gives people paid holidays to enjoy the day we call Christmas. Some of us buy Christmas trees. Some buy ‘Holiday’ trees. Some of us say “Merry Christmas” and some say “Happy Winter Solstice.” It seems remarkable to me that anyone could pick this time of year for mean spirited commentary when children and grown-ups find in the snow and fresh winter air some modest hope for our tomorrows – even, beyond our mortal tomorrows.

Many people are easy to like and enjoy, but, between you, me, and the proverbial fence post, I’m generally not too fond of atheists.

Hopefully, your Christmas was all you wished it to be. May your new year of 2014 be happy and prosperous.

NOTE: You can post comments to this post if you wish – just scroll down to ‘Leave a comment.’

Please follow/know me on:

http://www.about.me/brchitwood  

http://twitter.com (@brchitwood)

http://facebook.com/billyray.chitwoodhttp://billyraychitwood.weebly.com (My bio, books, reviews, blog)

http://www.goo.gl/fuxUA (My bio and books)

https://thefinalcurtain1.wordpress.com (my blog)

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

5 thoughts on “My Reaction To An Interview

  1. I feel sorry for the guy whom you referenced, he doesn’t have a clue. We’re the lucky ones, Billy. When I see people like that on TV or in real life, I just change the channel. Happy New Year and God Bless!

    Like

Leave a comment